Apatoons History

Apatoons was founded in 1981 by Don Markstein and GiGi Dane, our orginal Fearless Leaders. (That makes us 25 years old -- the longest-running U.S. animation publication.) Our other Fearless Leaders have been Jerry Beck, Brian Pearce, Bob Miller (twice, and currently), Harry McCracken (twice), Dave Mackey, Kip Williams, and Cathy Doyle. Other Apatooners past and present include John Cawley, Will Friedwald, Milton Gray, Mark Kausler, Jim Korkis, Mark Mayerson, David Mruz, Emru Townsend, and many others -- plus honorary members such as Mike Barrier, Mark Evanier, and Leonard Maltin. Members include animation historians, professionals, and just plain fans.

As of this writing, we've published 140 issues, with well over 15,000 pages of content: reviews, history, chatter, rare reprints, and other items, most of which you won't find anywhere else.

Below: Group photo of Apatooners past and present, taken 4/15/00 in Burbank, California. From left: Honorary member Mike Barrier, Milton Gray, Daniel Goldmark, Bob Miller, Amid Amidi, Mark Kausler, David Bastian, honorary member Jerry Beck, Harry McCracken, and Will Ryan.

Home * About Apatoons * How to Join * Stuff from Apatoons * Covers * History
MessageCenter * Other Sites * Private * Contact us